Login with your username/password to get unlimited article access.


Sign-Up with your username/password to get unlimited article access.

  • Register

    Registration confirmation will be emailed to you.

Signup for Newsletter

Subscribe to our daily newsletter and be the first to know about breaking news, exclusive promotions, discounted merchandise, contests, and free give-aways.

Path Radio

Click Here or click logo to hear the best in Gospel music.

Christian Contemporary

Natalie Grant Talks New Album Title “Be One,” Set to Hit Stores in November

Natalie Grant Talks New Album Title “Be One,” Set to Hit Stores in NovemberNatalie Grant is every woman. She juggles the responsibilities as a mother of three with the demands of a full-time career, while managing to find time for the pursuits that are important to her. Her daily life informs her music, which radiates encouragement, centered on a simple message: sometimes, all it takes to change the world is a shift in personal perspective.

The chorus to the title track from her November 13th record ‘Be One’ (Curb Records), is the perfect summary: “Why sit around and wait for a miracle to come when you can be one?” It’s that empowering perspective that helped Grant overcome her battle with depression and lose 40 pounds over the course of the last 18 months — unveiled on the August 17th cover of “First For Women” magazine — and it’s that perspective she wants to bring to others who are struggling in their own lives, helping them to overcome guilt and worry and be the people they’re truly meant to be.

‘Be One’ is truly a family affair — Grant co-wrote 7 of its 11 tracks; it was produced by her husband Bernie Herms (who is currently producing Barbra Streisand and Josh Groban); “Nothing But The Blood” features vocals from Grant’s brother Steve; and the song “Ever Be” features vocals by Grant’s daughters: twins, Grace and Bella (8) and Sadie (4).

Inspired by the soulfully-elegant and innovative artists of her upbringing, Grant is an entrepreneur as well as an artist, weaving the melodies and arrangements of the ’80’s pop stylings she’s influenced by with the substantial and meaningful lyrics she’s known for. “‘Be One’ is the first time since my very first record where I was controlling the process,” says Grant. “When I started making this record, I said, ‘I have something to say, and it’s time to do it.'” That spirit of determination and belief shines on ‘Be One’ as Grant’s soaring vocals — reminiscent at times of Whitney Houston, and at other times of Sia — bring sparkling, propulsive pop songs like “Good Day” and “Never Miss A Beat” rare energy and vitality.

Grant evokes that same passion in her work with Hope for Justice, an organization she founded as Abolition International in 2005 with the goal of restoring children who are victims of sex trafficking. She dedicates a portion of the proceeds from her jewelry line, NG by Natalie Grant, to Hope for Justice, and each piece of custom designed jewelry contains a message designed to uplift and inspire. Over the course of her 16-year career, Grant has seen the results of her commitment. Her eight albums have netted her a total of 25 Dove Award nominations (and eight wins), and she has received four Grammy nominations, including one for her last #1 album ‘Hurricane.’ ‘Be One’ is Grant’s most personal album to date, one designed to bring a message of hope and light to listeners everywhere.

‘Be One’ Track Listing:
1. Be One
2. Good Day
3. King Of The World
4. Love Has Won
5. Clean
6. Symphonies
7. Enough
8. Never Miss A Beat
9. Ever Be
10. More Than Anyhing
11. Nothing But The Blood (feat. Steve Grant)

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x