Login with your username/password to get unlimited article access.


Sign-Up with your username/password to get unlimited article access.

  • Register

    Registration confirmation will be emailed to you.

Signup for Newsletter

Subscribe to our daily newsletter and be the first to know about breaking news, exclusive promotions, discounted merchandise, contests, and free give-aways.

Path Radio

Click Here or click logo to hear the best in Gospel music.


2014 Soul Train Awards Announce Gospel Nominees

2014 Soul Train Awards Announce Gospel NomineesThe 2014 Soul Train Awards announced the nominees in the field of Gospel.

Daytime talk show queen Wendy Williams will host the 2014 Soul Train Awards, which takes place on Nov. 7 in Las Vegas. BET and Centric will air the ceremony on Nov. 30 at 8PM ET.

Read Below for the Gospel Nominees and the complete list of secular Nominees.

Soul Train Awards 2014 Nominations

Best Gospel/Inspirational Song

‘Help’ — Erica Campbell feat. Lecrae
‘I Can Only Imagine’ — Tamela Mann
‘No Greater Love’ — Smokie Norful
‘Real Love’ — Inspired People feat. Charles Jenkins
‘Say Yes’ — Michelle Williams feat. Beyoncé & Kelly Rowland
‘We Are Victorious’ — Donnie McClurkin feat. Tye Tribbett

Best New Artist

August Alsina
Jhene Aiko
LiV Warfield
Mack Wilds
Nico & Vinz
Sevyn Streeter

Centric Certified Award

Avery Sunshine
Leela James
Luke James
Robert Glasper

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year

‘Fancy’ — Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX
‘Hold On (We’re Going Home)’ — Drake feat. Majid Jordan
‘Loyal’ — Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga
‘No Mediocre’ — T.I. feat. Iggy Azalea
‘Pills N Potions’ — Nicki Minaj
‘Studio’ — ScHoolboy Q feat. BJ the Chicago Kid

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Janelle Monae
Jennifer Hudson
Jhene Aiko
Marsha Ambrosius

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Chris Brown
John Legend
Pharrell Williams
Trey Songz

Album of the Year

‘Beyonce’ — Beyonce
‘G I R L’ — Pharrell Williams
‘Love in the Future’ — John Legend
‘Nothing Was the Same’ — Drake
‘The Electric Lady’ — Janelle Monae
‘Xscape’ — Michael Jackson

Song of the Year

‘All of Me’ — John Legend
‘Drunk in Love’ — Beyonce feat. Jay Z
‘Happy’ — Pharrell Williams
‘Hold On (We’re Going Home)’ — Drake feat. Majid Jordan
‘Love Never Felt So Good’ — Michael Jackson feat. Justin Timberlake
‘Loyal’ — Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne and Tyga

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award

‘All of Me’ — John Legend (Toby Gad, John Stephens, Dave Tozer)
‘Happy’ — Pharrell Williams (Pharrell Williams)
‘Pretty Hurts’ — Beyonce (Joshua Coleman, Sia Fuller, Beyoncé Knowles)
‘Stay With Me’ — Sam Smith (Steve Fitzmaurice, James Napier, William Phillips, Sam Smith)
‘The Man’ — Aloe Blacc (Khalil Abdul-Rahman, Sam Barsh, Aloe Blacc, Elton John, Daniel Seeff, Bernie Taupin)
‘The Worst’ — Jhene Aiko (Jhene Aiko Chilombo, Mac Robinson, Brian Warfield)

Best Dance Performance

’2 On’ — Tinashe feat. ScHoolboy Q
‘Electric Lady’ — Janelle Monáe
‘Good Kisser’ — Usher
‘Loyal’ — Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga
‘Talk Dirty’ — Jason Derulo feat. 2 Chainz
‘Turn Down for What’ — DJ Snake & Lil Jon

Best Collaboration

Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga — ‘Loyal’
Chris Brown feat. Usher & Rick Ross — ‘New Flame’
Janelle Monae feat. Miguel — ‘Primetime’
Michael Jackson & Justin Timberlake — ‘Love Never Felt So Good’
Robert Glasper feat. Jill Scott — ‘Calls’
Toni Braxton & Babyface — ‘Hurt You’

Video of the Year

‘Drunk in Love’ — Beyonce feat. Jay Z (Hype Williams)
‘Good Kisser’ — Usher (Christopher Sims)
‘Happy’ — Pharrell Williams (We are from L.A.)
‘New Flame’ — Chris Brown feat. Usher (Breezy & Mike Ho)
‘The Man’ — Aloe Blacc (Matty Barnes)
‘The Worst’ — Jhene Aiko (Danny Williams)

Best Traditional Jazz Performance

Audra McDonald — ‘What a Little Moonlight Can Do’
Gregory Porter — ‘Hey Laura’
Kenny Garrett — ‘Pushing the World Away’
Monty Alexander — “Concierto de Aranjuez’
Wynton Marsalis — ‘Flee as A Bird to the Mountain (Live)’

Best Contemporary Jazz Performance

Liv Warfield — ‘Stay’/’Soul Lifted’
Najee feat. Meli’sa Morgan — ‘In the Mood to Take It Slow’
Robert Glasper feat. Jill Scott — ‘Calls’
Snarky Puppy — ‘Lingus (We Like It Here)’
Terrace Martin feat. Robert Glasper — ‘It’s Yours’
Vandell Andrew — ‘Let’s Ride’

Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance

Joe feat. Kelly Rowland — ‘Love & Sex Pt. 2′
Kelly Price — ‘It’s My Time’
LiV Warfield — ‘Why Do You Lie?’
Sebastian Mikael feat. Wale — ‘Last Night’
Shaliek — ‘The Past’
Terrace Martin feat. T$, Tone Trezure — ‘You’re the One’

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x